Six Good Things

Some days I take to making lists. Here are six random things that will make me like you quite well even if I barely know you.

1. If someone says something racist, you speak against what they said.

2. If I’m talking to you and your cell phone rings, you turn off the ringer without looking to see who is calling.

3. You pick up a stranded motorist, especially one that seems down on his/her luck.

4. When an unpopular person walks in the room, you walk up to him/her with a smile and say “Hi, good to see you!”

5. When the unpopular person leaves the room, you still say, “It was good to see him/her.”

6. You say, “I don’t know” if, in fact, you don’t know.

Thanks to the nice people in the world who have inspired this list!

3 Responses to “Six Good Things”

  1. Christine Says:

    I really like the idea of saying “I don’t know.” I heard somewhere: I know what I know. I know what I don’t know, but I don’t know what I don’t know. I’m good with that. The cell phone thing, I do look at who is calling because I have a kid and I’m just getting used to this Kindergarten thing. You know, the other day, I wanted to stop for some motorists who had just gone into a ditch, but I couldn’t safely stop for them. It was terrible. I was about to call 911, but I saw the cops coming from the other direction.

    This is so thought-provoking. I particularly like number one and I agree wholeheartedly.

  2. Christine Says:

    Oh, and I would add, you are kind to waiters, waitresses, doormen, housekeepers at hotels……

Leave a Reply

