Sad Cake

My new year’s resolution was to make 15 recipes that I’ve had sitting around for awhile. This is my third effort, and my first failure. This cake was delicious when my friend Betty brought it in to work, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I didn’t write down the recipe correctly. It seems odd that there would be no baking powder or soda in it. This alone wouldn’t fully account for the fact that the object that emerged from the oven resembles fruit leather more than cake. Here’s what I tried, with my notes in parentheses.

This cake has the texture of fruit leather. The flavor is okay.

Molasses Spice Cake:

2.25 C Flour (I used 1.25 C whole wheat flour, and 1 C white)
1/2 t salt (I skipped this)
1 t cinnamon
1/4 t each: cloves, nutmeg, cardamom
1/2 t ginger
1/4 C molasses (I increased to 1/3 C)
1/2 C honey (I decreased to 1/4 C)
1 t vinegar
1/2 C applesauce
1 C milk

Mix dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl combine the wet ingredients. Fold in the dry ingredients. Bake 25-30 minutes in a 9″ square pan (I used a round pan) at 350 degrees. Use cream cheese or lemon frosting (I omitted frosting)

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Sad Cake”

  1. Dolores Francis Says:

    With the teaspoon of vinegar, I would say there should be baking soda–maybe a half teaspoon?

  2. erstwhile luddite Says:

    That’s what I was thinking too. I almost went ahead and put it in there, but figured I would try to stick with the recipe.

  3. erin Says:

    And oil. Or is it meant to be oil-free?

  4. erstwhile luddite Says:

    I think it is supposed to be oil-free. I seem to recall that it was billed as “healthy,” though by the time a person puts frosting on it that’s a bit of a stretch.

Leave a Reply

